My boyfriend and I have been together for four years. When we first met, I had just decided to drop out of school and he had just found out that he was accepted into a study abroad program in Prague, Czech Republic. We met in November, 2012. Not only did he travel to Israel for a month in December, but when he came back, he was in the US for two weeks before he spent four months in Prague and didn’t come home until that May. Everyone said we were crazy. We had only been together for about a month and he was leaving for four months! What were we thinking? Well, it wasn’t easy. In fact, it was one of the hardest things we’ve ever done but we stayed together. Through the power of Skype and Facebook, we kept in touch and made the long distance thing work. Finally, he was home and I was the happiest I have ever been. Having him home was the best present but to top it all off, he brought me a beautiful piece of jewelry that will forever be my favorite.

necklace.jpg

The necklace is simple. It’s a teardrop shape and made of Czech crystal. For those of you who don’t know, an ideal crystal has every atom in a perfect, repeating pattern. However, most crystals have small defects that interrupt the pattern, making it less than ideal. Now, I’m no expert but this crystal looks pretty damn perfect to me. Just like most crystal, my boyfriend and I didn’t follow the usual pattern. He didn’t spend weeks “wooing” me and then ask me to be his girlfriend. Not only did he not have the money, but he didn’t have the time. We were official within four days of knowing each other and then spent almost half a year apart. Our first real date was celebrating having dated for six months. But just like the crystal, our relationship is perfect and unique.

