Devorah Migdelit,

Your name means “bee”. A bee is fast moving and impossible to stop. It is determined and strong. The bee harvests the sweetness from one flower and spreads it to all others, just like you. Communicating through you gave me a different kind of voice. It was easier to speak with a stronger set of lungs. I appreciated your letter regarding my activism on social media. It’s one of the few things I do well. I appreciated this entire course. It was pretty amazing.

This course gave me the opportunity to design projects I never would have been able to before. I loved working on my morning sound project.

But I think the Pepsi parody assignment was the most fun. My boyfriend and I were at Penn State for a tailgate and we had a few drinks so it was the perfect time to fake fight on camera! I’ve always loved editing video and audio but I haven’t been able to in years, so this was so much fun!

The most challenging aspect of the course, honestly, was the DDA aspect. I took it as an obligation and not something to have fun with. I became very easily overwhelmed and eventually stopped doing them. I am honestly disappointed in myself because I obsessed over the simplest aspect of the course and made it too difficult to maintain.

Future alchemists need to know that this course is challenging, interesting, and rewarding. It’s a lot of work but you just need to pace yourselves. This is something I had difficulty with. As Mia and Alan knew, I was dealing with a lot this semester. About a year ago, I was diagnosed with alopecia and my hair didn’t stop falling out for the entire year. My hair only recently started growing back because I lowered my stress levels. Future alchemists need to manage their life and work load. Quite frankly, everyone should.

The most meaningful interaction I had in this class was on the bus ride to Puerto Vallarta. Our president has horrible things to say about their country but they had the nicest things to say about us! They were so careful and didn’t want to offend us when most people would have just been rude to them.

I learned the best tactic from this course, hypothesis. I use hypothesis to annotate online research so I don’t have to print it out and waste paper. I am currently writing a 15 page paper and I am using hypothesis to annotate several pieces of research. It is insanely helpful!

This course was amazing and it was the most rewarding thing I have done at school. I learned so much about myself and was able to speak through you, Devorah. I have never been more grateful.

 

-Brooke

